Kriya Yoga Techniques

It is strongly advised that these videos are for demonstration and clarification purposes only and that any serious seeker should learn the techniques from a Kriya Yoga Acharya. Since any unguided practice in the initial stages could be harmful and hence initiation and learning in person is a must for Kriya Yoga practice.

Nābhi Kriya

In the earlier days Nābhi Kriya was taught as a preliminary technique before teaching the actual Kriya Yoga techniques. Nābhi Kriya is used to prepare oneself for the Kriya Yoga techniques. Nābhi Kriya is a body cleaning technique.

Guru Pranaam

Guru Pranaam means “bowing down to masters”. This technique arouses prāna (प्राण ) and is based on bowing down in sitting posture with deep breath from each chakra along with concentration and devotion starting from Muladhara up to Sahasrara.

Khechari Mudra

In kriya yoga practices Khechari Mudra is given lot of importance. This is the first technique given in the traditional kriya yoga practices. The technique has been highly described in Yogachudamani Upanishad, Dhyanabindu Upanishad and other scriptures. The practice of this technique has been called Talavya Kriya. In Hatha Yoga system this is known as Lambika Yoga. Khechari (खेचरी ) Kh ख means ether and one that moves in the ether is called Khechari.

Hamsah Sādhana

Hamsah Sādhana is the foundation of Kriya Yoga. Hamsa comes from the root word हन्त्व (hantva) which means “one that kills”. Here Hamsah (हंस) means one that kills the ignorance and establishes one self in knowledge. Ham is representative of Shiva and Sah is representative of Shakti. Hamsah (हंस) is Shiva and Shakti combined. By practice of Hamsah Sādhana the practioner ascends the three qualities of nature Sattva (सत्त्व), Rajas (रजस्) and Tamas (तमस्) and establishes one self in Parama Shiva (the transcendental state) or Samādhi.

Vyāna Vikshana

Vyāna Vikshana is a Kriya Yoga technique but it is rarely taught. We have five prānas -

  • Prāna
  • Apāna
  • Vyāna
  • Samāna
  • Udāna

Most of the Kriya Yoga techniques are based on Prāna and Apāna. But this technique is based on Vyāna (the vital air prevailing over our entire body). This technique starts or can be practiced after a practioner becomes an expert in Hamsah Sādhana. Due to development of concentration in practice of Hamsah Sādhana one is able to feel the vibrations / pulsations in the Ajna chakra. Our entire body (every cell) is always pulsating. In Vyāna Vikshana the practioner feels that pulsations to the entire body. The purpose of Vyāna Vikshana is to attain āsana siddhi.


Mahamudra is one of the most important techniques in Kriya Yoga. Not only in Kriya Yoga but all the traditional yogic systems give importance to Mahamudra. The name Mahamudra means great posture or great lock. With this practice a yogic practioner arouses his or her pranic energy called Kundalini. This practice there are various other physical benefits. Almost the entire body gets rejuvinated. This technique is a must before the proper kriya practice. That is why in Kriya Yoga it is considered one of the four pillars of the technique.

It is important in this technique to be specific and practice this technique properly. Those who have back ache problem should not practice this technique until their back ache problem is cured. Those who have acute high bloodpressure should not practice this technique. For women it is advised that this technique should not be practiced during their periods.

Kriya Proper I

मूल क्रिया

In Kriya Yoga we do some anciliary techniques which are complimentary and supplimentary techniques like Nābhi Kriya, Guru Pranaam, Khechari Mudra, Hamsah Sādhana, Vyāna Vikshana, Mahamudra, Jyotimudra, Shambhavi Mudra. But the core of the technique is called Kriya Proper. Kriya Proper has different stages like Kriya Proper - 1, Kriya Proper - 2, Kriya Proper - 3, Kriya Proper - 4. Kriya Proper is also known under different names like Kriya Pranayama, Kriya Kundalini Pranayama and so on. This video explains what Kriya Proper is.

For the introduction video and all further videos related to Kriya Proper 1 can be found here Kriya Proper I Videos.



Kriya 1 Meditation

क्रिया ध्यान 1

This technique is done after the main kriya breathing Kriya Proper 1. When a Kriyavan practices for a longer period (after some years) during the kriya practice when the number of kriya breaths increases and is practiced for longer duration by following the rules and regulations (practicing Yama and Niyama) then simply by Kriya Proper 1 one can achieve the state of breathlessness or Paravastha or no thought state.




Jyotimudra (seal of light) also known called Yoni Mudra (seal of creation) is one of the four Kriya Yoga techniques. By practice of this technique one has access to the knowledge of creation or knowledge of manifestation. Normally this is done towards the end of kriya practice. This practice is done in Khechari mudra (see above).

Shambhavi Mudra

Shambhavi mudra is one of the key kriya yoga techniques generally done at the end of the meditation. In Shandilya Upanishad this has been described as Vaishnavi Mudra.